Kuresel.news

← NIGERIA

Week of October 26

2026-W44
Oct 26 – November 1, 2026
FINAL
Last update October 30, 2026
COUNTRIES IN THE NEWS
  • United States
  • Switzerland
  • Ghana
  • South Africa

Nigeria evacuates Ebola index patient to Switzerland as WHO declares country Ebola-free

Nigeria's index Ebola patient was evacuated from Abuja to Switzerland by air ambulance, the health minister confirmed. The federal government flew the patient out after approving 10 billion naira in emergency funding for the response.12345

The World Health Organization declared Nigeria Ebola-free following the evacuation. The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control and Prevention had identified two suspected Ebola cases, one of them unconfirmed.65

In Yobe State, the government activated emergency response centres and border surveillance. Commissioner for Health Mohammed Lawan Gana, represented by Permanent Secretary Hadiza Sabo, announced the measures at a briefing for journalists in Damaturu on Monday.7

UPDATES

· New development

The federal government said Nigeria could be declared Ebola-free by December, a later target than the WHO declaration already reported.8910

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control and Prevention said 54 primary contacts are now being traced, many of them in quarantine.811

Nigerian panel finds 37 detained miners died of suffocation in NSCDC custody

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

A federal government investigative panel has concluded that 37 miners died of suffocation while in custody of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps. The panel submitted its report to the Minister of Interior, Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo, who received it and promised to implement its recommendations to ensure justice for all affected persons.123

The panel attributed the deaths to overcrowding, extreme heat and dehydration in the detention cells, and recommended 1.4 billion naira in compensation to the victims' families. It also recommended the dismissal of six NSCDC officers, murder charges against five, and an Economic and Financial Crimes Commission probe.453

Attributed claim: Accounts differ on the number of detainees who died from asphyxia. Punch reported that 33 detainees died from asphyxia, while TheCable, Sahara Reporters and Reuters reported the panel's finding that 37 miners died of suffocation, with Reuters describing the cause as overcrowding and neglect.6247

The BBC reported that the inquiry found deaths in Nigerian detention cells were entirely preventable.8

Federal High Court in Abuja sacks Uzodimma as APC Imo West candidate and names Okorocha winner

A Federal High Court in Abuja sacked Hope Uzodimma as the All Progressives Congress candidate for the Imo West senatorial district and declared Rochas Okorocha the winner. The court ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission to publish and recognise Okorocha as the APC candidate for Imo West.1234567

The ruling nullified Uzodimma's Senate ticket, and the APC reacted to the judgment. Uzodimma is the governor of Imo State, and the decision removes him as the party's flagbearer for the district.284

The court directed INEC to publish Okorocha as the APC candidate for Imo West. The order places the commission at the centre of the dispute over which name appears on the ballot for the district.936

UPDATES

· Reaction

Rochas Okorocha said the ruling that removed Hope Uzodimma as the APC candidate for Imo West had broken "shackles" on Imo, and said Uzodimma has "never won an election."1011

Nigeria approves N70,000 monthly transport allowance and opens minimum wage talks with NLC

The federal government approved a N70,000 monthly transport allowance for workers, to run for six months, at a meeting with Nigeria Labour Congress leadership in Abuja on Tuesday. The meeting covered workers' welfare, the national minimum wage and outstanding allowances.123

The government and the NLC also settled on payment of 19 months of health workers' arrears, and both sides urged state and local governments to join the intervention process and implement the agreed measures. Minimum wage talks between the government and the NLC are set to begin.45

The approval was reported across the editorial spectrum, from pro-government LEADERSHIP to oppositional TheCable and Premium Times, with no difference in the core figures: N70,000 a month, six months, and the Abuja meeting with the NLC.41236

UPDATES

· Reaction

The Trade Union Congress of Nigeria rejected the federal government's proposed N70,000 transport allowance and demanded a permanent salary increase for workers instead.78

Also this week

Published earlier this week and since overtaken by bigger stories. Open one to read it in full.

US arraigns Nigerian extradited from Benin over alleged $100 million tax fraudA Nigerian man has been extradited from Benin to the United States and arraigned over an alleged $100 million stolen-identity tax fraud scheme. Outlets reported the extradition and the US arraignment on Wednesday.

US arraigns Nigerian extradited from Benin over alleged $100 million tax fraud

A Nigerian man has been extradited from Benin to the United States and arraigned over an alleged $100 million stolen-identity tax fraud scheme. Outlets reported the extradition and the US arraignment on Wednesday.1234

CBS News reported that the man lived in Atlanta and now faces federal charges in a $100 million tax return fraud scheme, as described by a district attorney. The other accounts identify the case as a stolen-identity tax fraud scheme.54

The extradition from Benin places the case alongside other US fraud prosecutions involving West Africans. The same week, the BBC reported that Ghanaian twin brothers pleaded guilty in a $9 million romance fraud targeting elderly US citizens, and that Ghana extradited socialite Abu Trica to the US to face $8 million fraud charges.67

South Africa also agreed to send six wanted Nigerians to the US to face trial over more than $6 million in online fraud, the BBC reported.8

ADC alleges plot to postpone Nigeria's 16 January 2027 presidential election over EbolaThe African Democratic Congress has warned against an alleged plot to postpone the 2027 presidential election using the Ebola outbreak as a justification. The party said Nigerians had endured three and a half years of soaring prices, shrinking incomes and relentless hardship, and must be allowed to judge the Tinubu administration at the ballot box on January 16.

ADC alleges plot to postpone Nigeria's 16 January 2027 presidential election over Ebola

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

The African Democratic Congress has warned against an alleged plot to postpone the 2027 presidential election using the Ebola outbreak as a justification. The party said Nigerians had endured three and a half years of soaring prices, shrinking incomes and relentless hardship, and must be allowed to judge the Tinubu administration at the ballot box on January 16.12

The ADC raised its alarm directly with the Independent National Electoral Commission, warning the commission against shifting the 2027 election. The party's warning was also framed around insecurity.34

Attributed claim: The Presidency rejected the allegation, calling it fake news and saying it was unaware of any such plot. The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control and Prevention's director-general said no government will use Ebola as a political weapon.56

Adebayo Adewole warned against shifting the 2027 election over Ebola, saying "it's not an epidemic". The Social Democratic Party said there is no reason to fear that INEC will postpone elections.78

INEC has uploaded the preliminary voter register for the 2027 elections online.9

Kaduna governor Uba Sani says no party will win 25 percent of state's votes as Tinubu ralliesKaduna State Governor Uba Sani told President Bola Tinubu at a Kaduna rally that no party will get even 25 percent of the state's votes, saying everyone wants Tinubu. "No leader in the history of Nigeria has supported subnational governments as you have done, Mr President," Sani said. Northern youths at the rally backed Tinubu's re-election.

Kaduna governor Uba Sani says no party will win 25 percent of state's votes as Tinubu rallies

Kaduna State Governor Uba Sani told President Bola Tinubu at a Kaduna rally that no party will get even 25 percent of the state's votes, saying everyone wants Tinubu. "No leader in the history of Nigeria has supported subnational governments as you have done, Mr President," Sani said. Northern youths at the rally backed Tinubu's re-election.12

The rally was cast as the north's verdict on Tinubu, and the All Progressives Congress defended his poverty remarks by blaming the Peoples Democratic Party's 16 years in power. APC spokesman Felix Morka hit back at critics of the president's Kaduna speech, saying Tinubu "only needed to show up."34

PRNigeria's political pulse column reported that a DSS arrest and Kaduna backlash were reshaping political sentiment, with APC negativity soaring and the NDC gaining. The Nation, a pro-government outlet, framed the same week around continuity and prosperity.56

Separately, the House of Representatives gave Kaduna Polytechnic 72 hours to explain falling revenue and pension deductions.7

Gunmen kill Islamic cleric Sheikh Yahaya Masussuka and an associate in KatsinaGunmen killed Islamic cleric Sheikh Yahaya Masussuka and an associate in his home in Katsina State. The Katsina police confirmed the deaths of the cleric and his friend and launched a manhunt for the attackers.

Gunmen kill Islamic cleric Sheikh Yahaya Masussuka and an associate in Katsina

Gunmen killed Islamic cleric Sheikh Yahaya Masussuka and an associate in his home in Katsina State. The Katsina police confirmed the deaths of the cleric and his friend and launched a manhunt for the attackers.12345

Katsina State Governor Dikko Radda condemned the killing and called for a thorough investigation into the attack.63

Questions trail the killing as further details of the incident emerge, and there are urgent demands for a transparent investigation into the murder.78

UPDATES

· New development

Ansaru has claimed responsibility for the killing of Sheikh Yahaya Masussuka in Katsina, the first claim of responsibility in the case.9

President Bola Tinubu condemned the murder of the Islamic cleric and ordered a thorough investigation and a manhunt.1011

Dangote refinery IPO draws subscriptions from 51 African countries as offer closes on 27 OctoberSubscriptions to the Dangote refinery initial public offering came from 51 African countries, with investors from more than 90 nations seeking a stake. The offer closes on 27 October, and LEADERSHIP reported a final call for investors alongside a $22.5bn revenue figure tied to the IPO rush.

Dangote refinery IPO draws subscriptions from 51 African countries as offer closes on 27 October

Subscriptions to the Dangote refinery initial public offering came from 51 African countries, with investors from more than 90 nations seeking a stake. The offer closes on 27 October, and LEADERSHIP reported a final call for investors alongside a $22.5bn revenue figure tied to the IPO rush.1234

The chief executive of the Nigerian bourse said the listing will widen the investor base. Punch reported that the offer opens equities to younger investors.56

ThisDay reported a rush for Dangote refinery shares in the run-up to the 27 October close.2

INEC uploads preliminary voter register online after missing legal deadline for 2027 electionsNigeria's Independent National Electoral Commission has published the preliminary voter register for the 2027 general election on its website, after the commission missed the legal deadline for doing so. Premium Times had reported that the electoral commission violated the electoral law by failing to publish the register online at the stipulated time. The commission has registered more than 103 million voters for the 2027 election.

INEC uploads preliminary voter register online after missing legal deadline for 2027 elections

Nigeria's Independent National Electoral Commission has published the preliminary voter register for the 2027 general election on its website, after the commission missed the legal deadline for doing so. Premium Times had reported that the electoral commission violated the electoral law by failing to publish the register online at the stipulated time. The commission has registered more than 103 million voters for the 2027 election.12

The Nation reported that political parties will receive the voter register on December 15, and The Guardian Nigeria reported that the final list is due in December. The Guardian Nigeria described the upload as the commission bowing to pressure. FIJ NG reported that the register was published after its own story and public pressure.345

FIJ NG reported that no voters' register was online from the commission at the deadline, 90 days to the election, and UA.NEWS carried Premium Times' account that the commission failed to publish the register online by the deadline. Head Topics reported that the commission has now uploaded the preliminary voter register for the 2027 elections online.678

Gunmen raid Taraba market village as death toll estimates range from 10 to 50Gunmen attacked a village in Taraba State, eastern Nigeria, on a market day, and the death toll has risen through the week as more bodies were counted. Police put the figure at 48, while the Taraba community of Binnari put it at 50. Channels Television reported that suspected bandits killed 37 in a Taraba border community.

Gunmen raid Taraba market village as death toll estimates range from 10 to 50

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

Gunmen attacked a village in Taraba State, eastern Nigeria, on a market day, and the death toll has risen through the week as more bodies were counted. Police put the figure at 48, while the Taraba community of Binnari put it at 50. Channels Television reported that suspected bandits killed 37 in a Taraba border community.123

Attributed claim: Accounts of the number killed diverge sharply. The Guardian Nigeria and Channels Television, citing the community, reported 50 dead, and the BBC reported police saying 48. Premium Times reported 40, Reuters cited Amnesty International for at least 40 killed in northeastern Nigeria, TheCable reported at least 20 in the Taraba community, and Al Jazeera and Morning Star reported at least 10.42156789

The Taraba State government delivered relief materials to the affected community after the raid, Channels Television reported. Residents counted the dead from the market-day attack as the toll climbed over successive days.210

Amnesty International's figure of at least 40 people killed was reported for northeastern Nigeria, the same region as the Taraba raid. The range of counts, from 10 to 50, left the final number unsettled in the days after the attack.68

CBN grants JPMorgan approval-in-principle for Nigerian merchant bank after $38 million depositThe Central Bank of Nigeria has granted JPMorgan an approval-in-principle to set up a merchant bank in the country. The US bank secured the initial approval after depositing $38 million in capital, and the licence would make it the largest US bank to enter Nigerian merchant banking.

CBN grants JPMorgan approval-in-principle for Nigerian merchant bank after $38 million deposit

The Central Bank of Nigeria has granted JPMorgan an approval-in-principle to set up a merchant bank in the country. The US bank secured the initial approval after depositing $38 million in capital, and the licence would make it the largest US bank to enter Nigerian merchant banking.123

JPMorgan has named five Nigerians to lead the merchant bank, its first on the African continent. The appointments include a former Central Bank of Nigeria governor, presented as a major win for Nigeria.45

The approval-in-principle is an initial stage of licensing rather than a full merchant banking licence. The $38 million capital deposit is the figure attached to the application.12

Federal High Court orders Nasir El-Rufai to enter defence in wiretapping trialA Federal High Court has dismissed a no-case submission by former Kaduna governor Nasir El-Rufai in his wiretapping trial, ordering him to enter his defence if he wishes. The trial involves phone-tapping charges and, per Punch, the National Security Adviser Nuhu Ribadu.

Federal High Court orders Nasir El-Rufai to enter defence in wiretapping trial

A Federal High Court has dismissed a no-case submission by former Kaduna governor Nasir El-Rufai in his wiretapping trial, ordering him to enter his defence if he wishes. The trial involves phone-tapping charges and, per Punch, the National Security Adviser Nuhu Ribadu.12

The ruling was reported across outlets on Monday, with TheCable describing the decision as the dismissal of El-Rufai's no-case submission in the illegal phone interception case and Channels Television reporting that the court ordered him to enter defence.34

By Thursday the prosecution had moved forward: the Department of State Services closed its case in the alleged phone-tapping case against El-Rufai.5

Nigerians demand probe into viral video of boys chanting threats against ChristiansA viral video showing youths preaching religious intolerance and violence has drawn outrage in Nigeria, with Nigerians demanding an investigation into boys chanting threats against Christians. Amnesty International urged a probe into the viral Izala march video over alleged incitement to violence.

Nigerians demand probe into viral video of boys chanting threats against Christians

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

A viral video showing youths preaching religious intolerance and violence has drawn outrage in Nigeria, with Nigerians demanding an investigation into boys chanting threats against Christians. Amnesty International urged a probe into the viral Izala march video over alleged incitement to violence.123

The video shows members of the Islamic Movement calling for AK-47s to kill infidels in Enugu and Jos, according to accounts of the footage. PM News described it as an alleged Izala group's church attack video that triggered outrage.45

Attributed claim: Coverage of the group behind the video differs. Nigerian Voice and PM News attribute it to the Islamic Movement and an alleged Izala group respectively, while Premium Times and LEADERSHIP focus on the boys' threats against Christians without naming a single organisation in their headlines.1245