Kuresel.news

← PAKISTAN

Week of October 26

2026-W44
Oct 26 – November 1, 2026
FINAL
Last update October 30, 2026
COUNTRIES IN THE NEWS
  • Afghanistan
  • Iran
  • Saudi Arabia
  • United States
  • India
  • Singapore
  • Turkey
  • Bangladesh

Lahore High Court justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani resigns, citing executive control over judiciary

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani resigned as a judge of the Lahore High Court, saying he had witnessed the executive's growing control over judicial institutions. "My conscience does not permit," he said, according to accounts of the resignation.12345

The resignation was carried by Dawn, The Express Tribune, Dunya News and Islamabad Post, all reporting that Kayani cited the executive's growing control over the judiciary as his reason for leaving the bench.1234

Attributed claim: ThePrint, an oppositional outlet, reported that Kayani is the fourth Pakistani judge to quit over judicial interference, and quoted him saying, "My conscience does not permit me." Pro-government outlets including The Express Tribune and Arab News reported the resignation and his reference to the executive's growing control without the count of four judges.625

Separately, the Lahore High Court questioned police over an incorrect report in a case involving a Rs2 million cheque.78

Rawalpindi anti-terrorism court sentences Imaan Mazari and Hadi Ali Chattha to 10 years each

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

An Anti-Terrorism Court in Rawalpindi on Thursday sentenced human rights lawyer Imaan Mazari and her husband, Hadi Ali Chattha, to 10 years in prison each. Judge Tahir Abbas Supra announced the verdict after the trial concluded. The case involved the removal of security barriers and alleged obstruction of official duties.12

The court separately handed both defendants one-year and two-year jail terms under Sections 186 and 353 of the Pakistan Penal Code, and imposed fines. The 10-year sentence was handed down in the barrier removal case.32

Mazari and Chattha said the security breach case was "nothing more than harassment" for their human rights work.42

Attributed claim: One account reported that the court had postponed its verdict in the case of the two rights defenders, while the other reports said the ATC had sentenced them to 10 years each.52

Iran, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and Pakistan concluded a joint summit in Tehran and agreed to hold further talks

Iran, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and Pakistan concluded a joint summit in Tehran and agreed to hold further talks. Iranian President Masoud Pezeshkian urged "regional unity" in his meeting with the Makkah pact countries. The four countries' delegations met as Houthi attacks continued.123

Pakistan's army chief, Field Marshal Asim Munir, was in Tehran for talks with Iranian, Saudi and Turkish officials. A high-level Saudi, Turkish and Pakistani delegation met Pezeshkian and Rezaei in the Iranian capital. The Makkah defence pact countries pushed for peace in Tehran.451

The talks ran alongside continued Houthi attacks, which the meetings were convened against. Tehran was in discussions with Saudi Arabia, Turkey and Pakistan, with the war involving the United States and Iran in its 242nd day.163

Separately, Pakistan urged Afghanistan's Taliban government to act against militants and denied recruiting Afghan fighters. Islamabad rejected Kabul's position that it lacks the capacity to act.78910

Pakistan condemns Houthi missile strikes on Makkah and Madina as violation of Saudi sovereignty

Pakistan's Foreign Office condemned Houthi missile attacks on Saudi Arabia's Makkah and Madina regions, calling them a "grave violation" of the kingdom's sovereignty and territorial integrity. The statement described the attacks as "reprehensible" and said they demonstrated a disregard for the holy sites. The condemnation was issued on Monday.123

Senator Ashrafi called for an emergency meeting of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation over reported threats to the Haramain Sharifain, the two holy mosques. The call was reported alongside the Foreign Office statement.32

Later in the week, Pakistan again denounced the Houthi strikes, with the Foreign Office describing an attack on a power facility in Madina as a "grave provocation." Business Recorder reported that Pakistan reaffirmed its solidarity with Saudi Arabia following the strikes.4567

Reporting also covered the deployment of Pakistani army troops in Saudi Arabia. The Friday Times framed the situation as a Saudi dilemma for Pakistan, asking whether the Houthis are fighting a just war.89

UPDATES

· New development

The Saudi-led coalition said it destroyed five Houthi missile tunnels and four launchers in an operation in Yemen, and that it intercepted Houthi missiles and drones aimed at the kingdom.10

The Houthis claimed strikes on a Saudi refinery and a ministry building, according to Dawn and Middle East Eye.1112

Punjab Chief Minister Maryam Nawaz backs 'tit-for-tat' response to assault cases and gives police four weeks

Punjab Chief Minister Maryam Nawaz backed a 'tit-for-tat' response to assault incidents in the province and advised victims to answer assault in kind. She said 'governing through fear' is not governance, and that the Multan incident continued to haunt her.1

Maryam Nawaz gave Punjab police four weeks to improve law and order. She gave the inspector general of police a free hand to act against district police officers and regional police officers over poor performance.234

On the violence incidents in Punjab, the chief minister said no one is above the law.5

Reports of the chief minister's remarks on assault cases and her four-week deadline to the police ran in outlets across the political spectrum, from the oppositional Dawn and The Express Tribune to the pro-government Dunya News and The Nation.3645

Also this week

Published earlier this week and since overtaken by bigger stories. Open one to read it in full.

Singapore's foreign minister Vivian Balakrishnan to visit Islamabad on October 30 at Ishaq Dar's invitationSingapore's Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr Vivian Balakrishnan will visit Islamabad on October 30 at the invitation of Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Ishaq Dar, the Foreign Office said on Thursday. The visit coincides with the 60th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between Pakistan and Singapore.

Singapore's foreign minister Vivian Balakrishnan to visit Islamabad on October 30 at Ishaq Dar's invitation

Singapore's Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr Vivian Balakrishnan will visit Islamabad on October 30 at the invitation of Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Ishaq Dar, the Foreign Office said on Thursday. The visit coincides with the 60th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between Pakistan and Singapore.123

The two countries are preparing to exchange a memorandum of understanding on disaster management during the visit, which the Foreign Office described as significant because of the anniversary. Bilateral talks are on the agenda in Islamabad on Friday.342

Pakistani outlets including state broadcaster Radio Pakistan, Dawn, 24 News HD and Pakistan Observer carried the Foreign Office announcement of the Friday visit, with Balakrishnan named as the arriving minister.5267

Pakistan raises currency transaction reporting threshold to Rs3m in AML-CFT reviewPakistan has raised the threshold for currency transaction reports to Rs3 million while its anti-money laundering and counter-terrorism financing framework is reviewed. The change was reported on Tuesday as the government weighed adjustments to the AML-CFT regime.

Pakistan raises currency transaction reporting threshold to Rs3m in AML-CFT review

Pakistan has raised the threshold for currency transaction reports to Rs3 million while its anti-money laundering and counter-terrorism financing framework is reviewed. The change was reported on Tuesday as the government weighed adjustments to the AML-CFT regime.123

Finance Minister Aurangzeb called for effective implementation of the AML-CFT framework, according to The Nation. Business Recorder reported that Pakistan had decided to tighten its AML-CFT regimes, the same week the reporting threshold was raised.45

The Express Tribune reported separately that piracy would carry a penalty of 10 years in jail and a Rs25 million fine. The provision appeared alongside the AML-CFT reporting in the same roundup of measures.6

Dawn reported on Thursday that the Anti-Narcotics Force filed drug trafficking and money laundering charges against Anmol Pinky. The case is a separate enforcement action from the threshold change.7

Afghan Taliban mortar fire kills one civilian and wounds five in Angoor Adda border clashA mortar shell fired by Afghan Taliban forces struck a residential house in the Angoor Adda area of South Waziristan, killing one civilian and wounding five members of the same family, security sources said. Pakistani security forces responded by destroying Afghan border check posts, an official said. Local residents expressed widespread anger over the targeting of civilians.

Afghan Taliban mortar fire kills one civilian and wounds five in Angoor Adda border clash

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

A mortar shell fired by Afghan Taliban forces struck a residential house in the Angoor Adda area of South Waziristan, killing one civilian and wounding five members of the same family, security sources said. Pakistani security forces responded by destroying Afghan border check posts, an official said. Local residents expressed widespread anger over the targeting of civilians.123

Pakistan's government urged Afghanistan's Taliban authorities to act against militants carrying out cross-border attacks and to end what Islamabad called diversionary tactics. Islamabad also denied recruiting Afghan fighters, rejecting claims that it arms Afghans to fight anti-Pakistani insurgents.456

Attributed claim: Accounts of the clash differ on what set it off. The Seattle Times reported that Pakistani forces and Afghan Taliban fighters exchanged fire after militants attempted to infiltrate Pakistan, while 8AM Media reported clashes between Taliban fighters and Pakistani forces in Paktika. Business Recorder described the mortar strike on the house as the trigger for a retaliatory response by Pakistani security forces.781

Pakistan security forces kill nine India-sponsored terrorists in Balochistan operations, ISPR saysPakistan's security forces killed nine terrorists in intelligence-based operations in Balochistan, the military's public relations wing, ISPR, said. Dawn reported the dead as India-sponsored terrorists. The operations took place in the coastal district of Gwadar, where the military said it foiled an attempt to undermine the state's writ.

Pakistan security forces kill nine India-sponsored terrorists in Balochistan operations, ISPR says

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

Pakistan's security forces killed nine terrorists in intelligence-based operations in Balochistan, the military's public relations wing, ISPR, said. Dawn reported the dead as India-sponsored terrorists. The operations took place in the coastal district of Gwadar, where the military said it foiled an attempt to undermine the state's writ.123

Attributed claim: Accounts of the toll differ. The Express Tribune and Anadolu Ajansı reported that 10 terrorists were killed in the Gwadar operations, with Anadolu saying the dead included a woman. Arab News reported five militants killed in a joint security operation in Pakistan's southwest, citing an official.456

Attributed claim: The Baloch Liberation Front said 80 Pakistani personnel were killed in Operation Almas, according to India Today. The claim comes from the insurgent group itself and is not reflected in the ISPR figures carried by Pakistani outlets.7

Countercurrents argued that Gwadar's future cannot be separated from Baloch sovereignty, framing Operation Almas as showing the limits of military power. The outlet's account places the operation inside a political dispute over the coastal district rather than a counterterrorism tally.8

Pakistan raises petrol by Rs1.54 and diesel by Rs2.16 per litre for October 27Pakistan's government raised the petrol price by Rs1.54 per litre and the high-speed diesel rate by Rs2.16 per litre, with the new prices taking effect for October 27. Under the daily pricing mechanism, petrol will cost Rs379.25 per litre and high-speed diesel Rs395.82.

Pakistan raises petrol by Rs1.54 and diesel by Rs2.16 per litre for October 27

Pakistan's government raised the petrol price by Rs1.54 per litre and the high-speed diesel rate by Rs2.16 per litre, with the new prices taking effect for October 27. Under the daily pricing mechanism, petrol will cost Rs379.25 per litre and high-speed diesel Rs395.82.123

The government has defended its practice of changing fuel prices daily during proceedings in the National Assembly. ANI News, an oppositional outlet, framed the increase as the public being burdened again by higher fuel costs.24

Pakistan tells Afghanistan to act against TTP and BLA, denies recruiting Afghan fightersPakistan has urged Afghanistan's Taliban government to act against militants it says use Afghan soil, naming the TTP and BLA, and rejected Kabul's claims that it lacks the capacity to do so. Islamabad called the Afghan position "diversionary allegations" and said it would not accept blame for insecurity inside Pakistan. Pakistan also denied recruiting Afghan fighters.

Pakistan tells Afghanistan to act against TTP and BLA, denies recruiting Afghan fighters

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

Pakistan has urged Afghanistan's Taliban government to act against militants it says use Afghan soil, naming the TTP and BLA, and rejected Kabul's claims that it lacks the capacity to do so. Islamabad called the Afghan position "diversionary allegations" and said it would not accept blame for insecurity inside Pakistan. Pakistan also denied recruiting Afghan fighters.123

Islamabad warned of further action if Afghan territory continues to be used for militancy in Pakistan. The warning accompanied the demand for action against the two armed groups.41

Attributed claim: Former US envoy Zalmay Khalilzad said Islamabad is arming Afghans to fight anti-Pakistani insurgents, a claim Pakistan rejects. The Times reported his warning as an alarm over Pakistani involvement with Afghan fighters.53

The exchange follows months of cross-border friction, with Pakistan's military reporting operations against militants it describes as India-sponsored and a campaign it says will continue until such groups are defeated.14

UPDATES

· New development

Pakistan's Foreign Office on Monday rejected the Afghan Taliban government's allegations of civilian casualties in Islamabad's counterterrorism operations in Afghanistan, saying Pakistan's conduct has always "reflected restraint" and that its response was "proportionate to the level of threat".6

Information Minister Chaudhry said Pakistan reserves the right to act against threats emanating from Afghanistan.7

Punjab extends detention of Imran Khan's sisters by 30 days as Lahore High Court disposes of release pleaPunjab's provincial government extended the detention of former prime minister Imran Khan's sisters by another 30 days. The order kept the two women in custody under the provincial government's authority.

Punjab extends detention of Imran Khan's sisters by 30 days as Lahore High Court disposes of release plea

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

Punjab's provincial government extended the detention of former prime minister Imran Khan's sisters by another 30 days. The order kept the two women in custody under the provincial government's authority.123

The Lahore High Court disposed of a petition seeking the release of Imran Khan's sisters after the government extended their detention. The court's move left the extended detention in place rather than ordering the women freed.234

Attributed claim: The Express Tribune reported that the Lahore High Court summoned Punjab's home secretary and the chief of Kot Lakhpat Jail over the detention. The other accounts describe the court disposing of the release petition without naming those summons.423

A son of one of the detained sisters said in a post that Pakistan is not releasing his mother from detention. He asked, "On what legal grounds is she still being held?"5

Pakistan's food supply does not meet the country's own dietary guidelinesPakistan's food supply does not meet the country's own dietary guidelines, the Food and Agriculture Organization said, and Pakistan trails India, Bangladesh and Nepal in the battle against hunger. The findings were reported as the Global Hunger Index 2026 was released.

Pakistan's food supply does not meet the country's own dietary guidelines

Ruled paragraphs are attributed to the outlet named in them, not stated as established fact.

Pakistan's food supply does not meet the country's own dietary guidelines, the Food and Agriculture Organization said, and Pakistan trails India, Bangladesh and Nepal in the battle against hunger. The findings were reported as the Global Hunger Index 2026 was released.123

Food insecurity affects 24.35 percent of households, according to the PDP. The figure was published as part of the same round of reporting on hunger in Pakistan.4

The Global Hunger Index 2026 placed Pakistan behind its South Asian neighbours, a result carried by Nikkei Asia under the comparison with India, Bangladesh and Nepal. The Friday Times examined what the index reveals about the country's hunger crisis.23

Attributed claim: Dawn reported the FAO finding that Pakistan's food supply fails the country's own dietary guidelines, while The Express Tribune described the situation as a hunger crisis. Business Recorder led instead with the PDP household figure of 24.35 percent, a difference in which number each outlet put first rather than a dispute over the facts.154

Iran's Zanjani warns Pakistan LPG prices could rise 30% as border closure deepens shortageAn Iranian producer, Zanjani, threatened to push Pakistan's LPG prices up by 30 percent, IntelliNews reported. The warning landed as traders said Pakistan's LPG shortage had worsened after a border closure.

Iran's Zanjani warns Pakistan LPG prices could rise 30% as border closure deepens shortage

An Iranian producer, Zanjani, threatened to push Pakistan's LPG prices up by 30 percent, IntelliNews reported. The warning landed as traders said Pakistan's LPG shortage had worsened after a border closure.12

The shortage reached households in the twin cities, where residents turned to alternative fuel as gas supplies ran short and LPG prices rose. LPG dealers went on strike, leaving consumers scrambling for cooking fuel.34

Some supply was moving: a ship carrying 4,000 tonnes of LPG docked at Port Qasim, Business Recorder reported.5

The 30 percent figure is specific to LPG in Pakistan. IntelliNews separately reported that Iran's producer inflation neared 100 percent, with industrial prices soaring 149 percent.16

Punjab chief minister sets June 2027 deadline for 5,734 water filtration plantsPunjab's chief minister, Maryam, has set a June 2027 deadline for the completion of 5,734 water filtration plants in the province. The target was announced alongside approval of the Last Mile Water Supply project.

Punjab chief minister sets June 2027 deadline for 5,734 water filtration plants

Punjab's chief minister, Maryam, has set a June 2027 deadline for the completion of 5,734 water filtration plants in the province. The target was announced alongside approval of the Last Mile Water Supply project.123

The provincial government is also envisaging a Water Quality Index for Punjab, a measure tied to the same water supply push. The index would sit alongside the filtration plant rollout as part of the province's water programme.4

The Last Mile Water Supply project was approved by the Punjab chief minister, extending supply to households at the end of the distribution network. The approval and the filtration deadline were announced together.12

The filtration plant count of 5,734 and the June 2027 completion date are the concrete commitments attached to the announcement. No source states the cost of the programme or the number of plants already operating.23